Fr. 30.90

Sunset Swing - City Blues Quartet

English · Hardback

Shipping usually within 1 to 3 working days


Read more

Following The Mobster¿s Lament, this is the fourth and final book in Ray Celestin¿s critically acclaimed City Blues quartet.

About the author

Ray Celestin is a novelist and screenwriter based in London. His debut novel, The Axeman’s Jazz, won the CWA New Blood Dagger for best debut crime novel of the year, and was featured on numerous ‘Books of the Year’ lists. His follow-up, Dead Man’s Blues, won the Historia Historical Thriller of the Year Award, and was shortlisted for a number of other awards, including the CWA Gold Dagger for best crime novel of the year. The novels are part of his City Blues series, which charts the twin histories of jazz and the Mob through the middle fifty years of the twentieth century. Sunset Swing is the fourth instalment in this series.


'Here ends one of the finest achievements of recent crime fiction' - Sunday Telegraph

'Outstanding' - The Times

*Winner of the 2022 CWA Historical Dagger and Gold Dagger*

Los Angeles. Christmas, 1967. A devil is loose in the City of Angels . . .

A young nurse, Kerry Gaudet, travels to the City of Angels desperate to find her missing brother, fearing that something terrible has happened to him: a serial killer is terrorising the city, picking victims at random, and Kerry has precious few leads.

Ida Young, recently retired Private Investigator, is dragged into helping the police when a young woman is discovered murdered in her motel room. Ida has never met the victim but her name has been found at the crime scene and the LAPD wants to know why . . .

Meanwhile mob fixer Dante Sanfelippo has put his life savings into purchasing a winery in Napa Valley but first he must do one final favour for the Mob before leaving town: find a bail jumper before the bond money falls due, and time is fast running out.

Ida’s friend, Louis Armstrong, flies into the city just as her investigations uncover mysterious clues to the killer’s identity. And Dante must tread a dangerous path to pay his dues, a path which will throw him headlong into a terrifying conspiracy and a secret that the conspirators will do anything to protect . . .

Completing his American crime quartet, Ray Celestin's Sunset Swing is a stunning novel of conspiracy, murder and madness, an unforgettable portrait of a city on the edge.


Following The Mobster’s Lament, this is the fourth and final book in Ray Celestin’s critically acclaimed City Blues quartet.

Additional text


Product details

Authors Ray Celestin
Publisher Mantle
Languages English
Age Recommendation from age 18
Product format Hardback
Released 25.11.2021
EAN 9781509838974
ISBN 978-1-5098-3897-4
No. of pages 560
Dimensions 163 mm x 241 mm x 53 mm
Series City Blues Quartet
Subjects Fiction > Suspense > Crime fiction, thrillers, espionage

Jazz, Los Angeles, Historical fiction, California, Crime, Thriller / suspense fiction, Thriller / suspense, c 1960 to c 1970, Crime and mystery: women sleuths, c 1960 to c 1969, Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths, Thrillers / Crime, Thrillers / Historical, Historical / General, Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled, Mystery & Detective / International Crime & Mystery

Customer reviews

No reviews have been written for this item yet. Write the first review and be helpful to other users when they decide on a purchase.

Write a review

Thumbs up or thumbs down? Write your own review.

For messages to please use the contact form.

The input fields marked * are obligatory

By submitting this form you agree to our data privacy statement.