Fr. 26.90

Broken

English · Paperback / Softback

Shipping usually within 1 to 3 weeks (not available at short notice)

Description

Read more

'A new book from Jenny Lawson is always cause for celebration, and Broken is the party of the year . . . I loved it' - Sarah Knight, bestselling author of The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck

Hilarious, heart-warming and honest, Broken (in the best possible way) is about living, surviving, and thriving with anxiety. The instant New York Times Bestseller from the author of Furiously Happy and Let's Pretend This Never Happened.

As Jenny Lawson's hundreds of thousands of fans know, she suffers from depression. In Broken, Jenny humanizes what we all face in an all-too-real way, reassuring us that we're not alone and making us laugh while doing it. She tackles such timelessly debated questions as 'How do dogs know they have penises?' We see how her vacuum cleaner almost set her house on fire, how she was attacked by three bears, and why she can never go back to the post office. Of course, Jenny's long-suffering husband Victor, the Ricky to Jenny's Lucille Ball, is present throughout.

A treat for Jenny Lawson's already existing fans, and destined to convert new ones, Broken is a beacon of hope and a wellspring of laughter when we all need it most.

A New York Times, Washington Post and LA Times Bestseller.

About the author

Jenny Lawson is an award-winning humorist known for her great candor in sharing her struggle with mental illness. She lives in Texas with her husband and daughter and was constantly “buying too many books” (“Not a real thing,” she insists), so she decided to skip the middleman and just started her own bookshop, which also serves booze because books and booze are what magic is made of. She has previously written Let’s Pretend This Never Happened and Furiously Happy, both of which were #1 New York Times bestsellers. She also wrote You Are Here, which inexplicably made it onto the New York Times bestseller list in spite of the fact that it was basically a very fun coloring book. She would like to be your friend unless you’re a real asshole. And yes, she realizes that this whole paragraph is precisely the reason she shouldn’t be allowed to write her own bio.

Summary

Hilarious, heart-warming and honest, Broken is about living, surviving and thriving with anxiety. A must-have for fans of Tina Fey, Amy Poehler and David Sedaris.

Foreword

Hilarious, heart-warming and honest, Broken is about living, surviving and thriving with anxiety. A must-have for fans of Tina Fey, Amy Poehler and David Sedaris.

Additional text

Jenny Lawson tackles anxiety and depression with humour and love in her new book, Broken

Report

Jenny Lawson is extremely funny because she is extremely honest. Lawson's relentless pursuit of authenticity is the source of the darkly hilarious prose found within this memoir of depression; a memoir that is unexpectedly inspiring and comforting but not unexpectedly endearing. Because to read Jenny Lawson is to love Jenny Lawson Augusten Burroughs, author of Running with Scissors

Customer reviews

No reviews have been written for this item yet. Write the first review and be helpful to other users when they decide on a purchase.

Write a review

Thumbs up or thumbs down? Write your own review.

For messages to CeDe.ch please use the contact form.

The input fields marked * are obligatory

By submitting this form you agree to our data privacy statement.