Fr. 18.50

Power & the People - Five Lessons from the Birthplace of Democracy

English · Paperback

Shipping usually within 1 to 3 working days

Description

Read more

Zusatztext It renders a potentially intimidating topic instantly readable ...with forays into protest! voter apathy and the changing face of political engagement! its arguments are compelling! persuasive and more prescient than ever Informationen zum Autor Alev Scott was born in London in 1987 to a Turkish mother and a British father. She studied Classics at Oxford before working in London as an assistant director in theatre and opera. In 2011 she moved to Istanbul! where she taught Latin at the Bosphorus University. Her first book! Turkish Awakening ! was published in 2014. Alev writes for numerous publications! including the Guardian . Her second book! Ottoman Odyssey ! was shortlisted for the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year Award in 2019. Her third book is Power & the People! written with Andronike Makres. Andronike Makres is a founding member of the Hellenic Education & Research Center. She graduated from the University of Athens and holds a D.Phil. in Ancient History from Oxford University. Her research focuses on ancient Greek history and epigraphy. She lives in Athens. Klappentext Democracy was born in Athens. From its founding myths to its golden age and its chaotic downfall! it's rich with lessons for our own times. Why did vital civil engagement and fair debate descend into paralysis and populism? Can we compare Creon to Trump! Demokratia to the American Constitution or Demosthenes' On the Crown to the Brexit campaign? And how did a second referenda save the Athenians from a bloodthirsty decision? With verve and acuity! the heroics and the critics of Athenian democracy are brought to bear on today's politics! revealing in all its glories and its flaws the system that still survives to execute the power of the people. Zusammenfassung Democracy was born in Athens. From its founding myths to its golden age and its chaotic downfall, it's rich with lessons for our own times. Why did vital civil engagement and fair debate descend into paralysis and populism? Can we compare Creon to Trump, Demokratia to the American Constitution or Demosthenes' On the Crown to the Brexit campaign? And how did a second referenda save the Athenians from a bloodthirsty decision? With verve and acuity, the heroics and the critics of Athenian democracy are brought to bear on today's politics, revealing in all its glories and its flaws the system that still survives to execute the power of the people. ...

Summary

An enlightening, entertaining and bitesize book about how Ancient Athenian democracy relates to the most urgent political issues of our day, for fans of Mary Beard's Women & Power and Yanis Varoufakis's Talking to my Daughter about the Economy

Customer reviews

No reviews have been written for this item yet. Write the first review and be helpful to other users when they decide on a purchase.

Write a review

Thumbs up or thumbs down? Write your own review.

For messages to CeDe.ch please use the contact form.

The input fields marked * are obligatory

By submitting this form you agree to our data privacy statement.