Recommend item

E-mail Link

Link to this article:

Display other linking options

Link to this author:

Link to this publisher:

Optional:

Linked page language:

Integrate partner ID in link: Update links

Questions concerning the partner pogramme or on linking? Contact
CHF 22.90
Delivery2-3 days
Add to cart Add to wish cart
Book

THE IMMORTALISTS

Chloe Benjamin

English; Paperback / Softback
Publisher Hachette UK
 
Series
Subject
Languages English
Product format Paperback / Softback
Released 31.01.2018
 
EAN 9781472244994
ISBN 978-1-4722-4499-4
No. of pages 416
Dimensions 160 mm x 240 mm x 32 mm
Weight 674 g
Evaluation No review available

The New York Times Top Ten Bestseller

'The Immortalists is about as good as it gets' Karen Joy Fowler

'Like literary nectar' Hannah Beckerman

'I couldn't put it down' Carys Bray

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live?

It's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes.

Over the years that follow, the siblings must choose how to live with the prophecies the fortune-teller gave them that day. Will they accept, ignore, cheat or defy them? Golden-boy Simon escapes to San Francisco, searching for love; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician; eldest son Daniel tries to control fate as an army doctor after 9/11; and bookish Varya looks to science for the answers she craves.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists is a story about how we live, how we die, and what we do with the time we have.

About the author

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

Summary

The New York Times Top Ten Bestseller
'The Immortalists is about as good as it gets' Karen Joy Fowler
'Like literary nectar' Hannah Beckerman
'I couldn't put it down' Carys Bray

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live?
It's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes.
Over the years that follow, the siblings must choose how to live with the prophecies the fortune-teller gave them that day. Will they accept, ignore, cheat or defy them? Golden-boy Simon escapes to San Francisco, searching for love; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician; eldest son Daniel tries to control fate as an army doctor after 9/11; and bookish Varya looks to science for the answers she craves.
A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists is a story about how we live, how we die, and what we do with the time we have.

Foreword

'It's amazing how good this book is' says Karen Joy Fowler: discover Chloe Benjamin's New York Times bestseller THE IMMORTALISTS, a sweeping family drama for fans of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and FATES AND FURIES.

Additional text

The Immortalists worms its way under your skin. Benjamin writes with verve and charm and her four protagonists are resolutely real. She is particularly good at the sibling bond, the unbreakable ties that bind brothers and sisters together even as they drive each other to distraction.It is a testament to Benjamin's skill that, as her story pulls focus from the wild nightclubs of the Castro and the glitter of Las Vegas to life in the suburbs, as youthful exhilaration and recklessness give way to grief and anger frustration and fear, the novel itself does not narrow but instead grows deeper and more absorbing

Report

A boundlessly moving inquisition into mortality, grief and passion...The Immortalists is not just a novel about grief; it conjures characters with such dimension that you mourn them too, a magic rare enough to leave one astonished Observer

Customer reviews

Top or flop? - Write the first review!