Fr. 42.00

Keane''s Company

English · Hardback

Shipping usually within 1 to 3 weeks (not available at short notice)

Description

Read more

Zusatztext 'Richard Sharpe would be delighted to have James Keane on his side! Iain Gale's creation is a wonderfully imaginative addition to the fascinating tales of Britain's defiance of Bonaparte' Bernard Cornwell. Informationen zum Autor Iain Gale! art critic! journalist and author! comes from a military family and has always been fascinated by military history. He is an active member of the Scottish Committee of the Society of Authors and the Friends of Waterloo Committee. He is the Editor of Scotland in Trust! the magazine for the National Trust of Scotland! and founded the Caledonian magazine. He lives in Edinburgh. Klappentext 'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell ! author of The Last Kingdom . Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell. Meet James Keane of the 27th Foot : an ill-disciplined card sharp and ladies' man - and one of the finest soldiers of Wellington's army. Keane's task! assigned directly by Wellington! is the creation of an intelligence unit operating behind the French lines. He and his company are trusted with the secrets of the generals - and viewed with hostile suspicion by regular troops. In a bid to recruit men with uncommon skills! Keane springs soldiers from military jails and liberates them from their regiments. It's up to him to form this band of blackguards into an elite unit. Deep in enemy territory! they must negotiate with dangerous guerilla groups and forge new routes for their army if they are to succeed - and survive. Based on the true activities of the first British military intelligence unit! Keane's Company presents an unusual and fascinating picture of the Peninsular War: a nineteenth-century Dirty Dozen and a worthy companion to Sharpe . 1808, the Peninsular War begins. Behind enemy lines, a British army unit led by officer James Keane undertake their first mission. 'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell , author of The Last Kingdom . Zusammenfassung 1808! the Peninsular War begins. Behind enemy lines! a British army unit led by officer James Keane undertake their first mission. 'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell! author of The Last Kingdom. ...

Product details

Authors Iain Gale
Assisted by David Timson (Reader / Narrator)
Publisher Quercus Publishing
 
Languages English
Product format Hardback
Released 25.04.2013
 
EAN 9781780873626
ISBN 978-1-78087-362-6
No. of pages 352
Series Keane
Captain James Keane
Keane
Captain James Keane
Subjects Fiction > Narrative literature

Historischer Roman, FICTION / Historical, FICTION / Action & Adventure, Fiction - Historical

Customer reviews

No reviews have been written for this item yet. Write the first review and be helpful to other users when they decide on a purchase.

Write a review

Thumbs up or thumbs down? Write your own review.

For messages to CeDe.ch please use the contact form.

The input fields marked * are obligatory

By submitting this form you agree to our data privacy statement.